Job Talk!
Wednesday January 18 at 10:00, Guo Xu, London School of Economics
Title: The Costs of Patronage: Evidence from the British Empire

Job Talk!
Thursday January 19 at 15:00, Jack Willis, Harvard University
Title: Time vs. State in Insurance: Experimental Evidence from Contract Farming in Kenya (with Lorenzo Casaburi, University of Zurich)

Job Talk!
Monday January 23 at 12:30, Arianna Ornaghi, MIT
Title: Civil Service Reforms: Evidence from U.S. Police Departments

Job Talk!
Tuesday January 24 at 10:00, Alexey Gorn, Bocconi University
Title: The Role of Headhunters in Wage Inequality: It's All about Matching

Job Talk!
Friday January 27 at 10:00, Andreas Gulyas, University of California, Los Angeles
Title: Identifying Labor Market Sorting with Firm Dynamics

Job Talk!
Monday January 30 at 10:00, Barbara Biasi, Stanford University
Title: Unions, Salaries, and the Market for Teachers: Evidence from Wisconsin

Job Talk!
Friday February 3 at 10:00, Abhijeet Singh, University of Oxford
Title: Learning More With Every Year: School Year Productivity and International Learning Divergence

Cancelled!
Monday February 6 at 10:00, Neele Balke, University College London
Title: The Employment Cost of Sovereign Default

Job Talk!
Tuesday February 7 at 12:30, Wei Huang, Harvard University
Title: Fertility Restrictions and Life Cycle Outcomes: Evidence from the One Child Policy in China

IIES/SNS International Policy Talk
Tuesday February 7 at 08:00, Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: Who becomes a politician? (Talk held in Swedish)
Venue: SNS, Jakobsbergsgatan 18
Registration required, sign up at http://www.sns.se/kalender/iiessns-international-policy-talks-torsten-persson-vem-blir-politiker/

Job Talk!
Wednesday February 8 at 14:00, Elisa Giannone, University of Chicago
Title: Skilled-Biased Technical Change and Regional Convergence

Job Talk!
Thursday February 9 at 14:00, Mitch Downey, University of California, San Diego
Title:  Losers Go to Jail: Congressional Elections and Union Officer Prosecutions (797 Kb)

Job Talk!
Monday February 13 at 10:00, Neele Balke, University College London
Title:  The Employment Cost of Sovereign Default (594 Kb)

Monday February 20 at 13:00, Johannes Haushofer, Princeton University
Title: Peace of Mind: Health Insurance Reduces Stress and Cortison Levels – Evidence from a Randomized Experiment in Kenya

Thursday March 9 at 15:00, Corina Boar, University of Rochester
Title: Dynastic Precautionary Savings

Tuesday March 14 at 13:00, Venky Venkateswaran, NYU
Title: Capital Misallocation: Frictions or Distortions?

Thursday March 16 at 15:00, Jaroslav Borovicka, NYU
Title: Identifying ambiguity shocks in business cycle models using survey data

Tuesday March 21 at 13:00, Joseph Vavra, Chicago Booth
Title: Regional Heterogeneity and Monetary Policy

Thursday March 23 at 15:00, Martina Björkman, SSE
Title: TBA

Tuesday March 28 at 13:00, Kristoffer Nimark, Cornell University Ithaca
Title: TBA

Thursday March 30 at 15:00, Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Princeton University
Title: TBA

Tuesday April 4 at 13:00, Lint Barrage, Brown University
Title: TBA

Thursday April 6 at 15:00, Aysegul Sahin, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: TBA

Thursday April 20 at 15:00, Simon Jäger, MIT
Title: TBA

Tuesday April 25 at 13:00, Erik Hurst, Chicago Booth
Title: TBA

Thursday April 27 at 15:00, Joana Naritomi, LSE
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 2 at 13:00, Hoyt Bleakley, University of Michigan
Title: TBA

Thursday May 4 at 15:00, Burhan Kuruscu, University of Toronto
Title: TBA

Thursday May 11 at 15:00, Mark Bils, University of Rochester
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 16 at 13:00, Annie Liang, University of Pennsylvania
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 23 at 13:00, Christopher Neilson, Princeton University
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 30 at 13:00, Gautam Rao, Harvard University
Title: TBA

Tuesday June 13 at 13:00, Xavier Gabaix, Harvard University
Title: TBA

Thursday June 15 at 15:00, Lise Vesterlund, University of Pittsburgh
Title: TBA