Tuesday September 3, Flavio Cunha, University of Pennsylvania.
TBA

Thursday September 5, Gerard Padró i Miquel, LSE.
 The Value of Democracy: Evidence from Road Building in Kenya (1513 Kb)

Tuesday September 10, Greg Kaplan, Princeton University.
Understanding the Long-Run Decline in Interstate Migration
NB! Seminar 10:00 - 11:30.

Thursday September 12, Leonard Wantchekon, Princeton University.
 Critical Junctures: Independence Movements and Democracy in Africa (1788 Kb)

Tuesday September 17, David Hemous, INSEAD.
 The Rise of the Machines: Automation, Horizontal Innovation and Income Inequality (1240 Kb)

Thursday September 19, Philip Keefer, The World Bank.
 Political Budget Cycles and the Organization of Political Parties (612 Kb) . And:
 Promises,Promises: Vote-buying and the Electoral Mobilization Strategies of Non-credible Politicians (400 Kb) .

Tuesday September 24, Toshihiko Mukoyama, Federal Reserve Board.
The Cyclicality of Job-to-Job Transitions and Its Implications for Aggregate Productivity
NB! Seminar at 10:00 - 11:30.

Thursday September 26, Dean Karlan, Yale University.
Long-Run Price Elasticities of Demand for Credit: Evidence from a Countrywide Field Experiment in Mexico. And:
Win Some Lose Some? Evidence From a Randomized Microcredit Program Placement Experiment by Compartamos Banco.

Tuesday October 1, Arpad Abraham, European University Institute.
"Efficient Risk Sharing with Limited Commitment and Storage"

Thursday October 3, Michele Valsecchi, University of Gothenburg.
TBA

Tuesday October 8, Florian Scheuer, Stanford University.
 A Theory of Income Taxation under Multidimensional Skill Heterogeneity (328 Kb)

Thursday October 10, Davide Cantoni, Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität-München.
"Curriculum and Ideology"

Tuesday October 15, Jonathan Heathcote, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.
"Optimal Income Taxation: Mirrlees Meets Ramsey"

Thursday October 17, Ufuk Akcigit, University of Pennsylvania.
 Buy, Keep or Sell: Market for Ideas and Economic Growth (769 Kb)

Tuesday October 22, Ingvild Almås, Norwegian School of Economics.
"The Cost of Living in China: Implications for Inequality and Poverty"

Thursday October 24, Joseph Kaboski, University of Notre Dame.
 The Macroeconomics of Microfinance (333 Kb)
NB! Seminar 10:00 - 11:30.

Thesis Defense!
Thursday October 24, Ettore Panetti, IIES.
 Essays on the Economics of Banks and Markets (1043 Kb)
In Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens hus at 15:00.
Opponent: Elena Carletti, EUI.

Tuesday November 5, Greg Fischer, LSE.
"To Charge or Not to Charge: Evidence from a Health Products Experiment on Aid Dependence in Uganda"

Thursday November 7, Yoichi Sugita, Stockholm School of Economics.
 The Impact of Trade Liberalization on Industrial Productivity (1278 Kb)

Tuesday November 12, Ofer Setty, Tel Aviv University.
"Who Cares About Unemployment Insurance?"

Thursday November 14, Bas Jacobs, Erasmus University Rotterdam.
Is a Minimum Wage an Appropriate Instrument for Redistribution?

Tuesday November 19, Tom Krebs, Universität Mannheim.
 Labor Market Reform and the Cost of Business Cycles (164 Kb)

Thursday November 21, Motohiro Yogo, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis.
Shadow Insurance

Friday November 22, Andrei Shleifer, Harvard University.
 Stereotypes (547 Kb)
 

Tuesday November 26, Daniel Chen, ETH Zurich.
Priming Ideology? Electoral Cycles Without Electoral Incentives Among Elite U.S. Judges

Thursday November 28, Diego Restuccia, University of Toronto.
 Land Reform and Productivity: A Quantitative Analysis with Micro Data (271 Kb)

Tuesday December 3, Oeindrila Dube, New York University.
 From Maize to Haze: Agricultural Shocks and the Growth of the Mexican Drug Sector (1189 Kb)
NB! Seminar at 10:00 - 11:30

Thursday December 5, Alex Schmitt, IIES.
"Dealing with Distortions: First-best vs. Optimal Carbon Taxation"

Monday December 16, Dave Donaldson, MIT.
Who’s Getting Globalized? The Size and Nature of Intranational Trade Costs
NB! Seminar at 15:30 - 17:00

Tuesday December 17, Jeremy Greenwood, University of Pennsylvania.
Why Doesn't Technology Flow from Rich to Poor Countries?

Thursday December 19, Stelios Michalopoulos, Brown University.
Ethnic Inequality