Thursday January 8, Victor Rios-Rull, University of Minnesota.
"Tightening Financial Frictions on Households, Recessions, and Price Reallocations"

CANCELLED!! Thursday January 15, Tommaso Nannicini, Bocconi University.
"Moderating Political Extremism: Single Round vs Runoff Elections under Plurality Rule"

Job Talk!
Monday January 26, Filip Rozsypal, University of Cambridge.
 Schumpeterian Business Cycles (875 Kb)

Job Talk!
Wednesday January 28, Andreas Steinmayr, University of Chicago.
When a Random Sample is Not Random. Bounds on the Effect of Migration on Household Members Left Behind

Job Talk!
Thursday January 29, Erika Deserranno, LSE.
Financial Incentives as Signals:Experimental Evidence from the Recruitment of Health Workers

Job Talk!
Monday February 2, Hedvig Horváth, University of California, Berkeley.
Classroom Assignment Policies and Implications for Teacher Value-Added Estimation
N.B!! Talk at 15:30.

Job Talk!
Monday February 9, Thomas Le Barbanchon, CREST.
 Optimal Partial Unemployment Insurance: Evidence from Bunching in the U.S. (468 Kb)
N.B!! Talk at 15:30.

Tuesday February 10, Hans-Joachim Voth, University of Zurich.
Bowling for Fascism: Social Capital and the Rise of the Nazi Party

Job Talk!
Wednesday
February 11, Sebastian Dyrda, University of Minnesota.
 Fluctuations in Uncertainty, Efficient Borrowing Constraints and Firm Dynamics (509 Kb)

Job Talk!
Friday
February 13, Benjamin Schoefer, Harvard University.
The Financial Channel of Wage Rigidity
NB!! Talk at 14:00.

Tuesday March 3, Jonas Hjort, Columbia Business School.
Firm's Response and Unintended Health Consequences of Industrial Regulations

Thursday March 5, Joseph Altonji, Yale University.
 Cashier or Consultant? Entry Labor Market Conditions, Field of Study, and Career Success (1155 Kb)

Thursday March 12, Ariell Reshef, University of Virginia.
"The March of the Techies: Technology, Trade and Job Polarization in France, 1994-2007"

Tuesday March 17, Richard Blundell, UCL.
 Female Labour Supply, Human Capital and Welfare Reform (790 Kb)

Thursday March 19, Rachel Ngai, LSE.
 Moving House (1115 Kb)

Tuesday March 24, Claudia Steinwender, Princeton University.
Information Frictions and the Law of One Price: "When the States and the Kingdom Became United"

Thursday March 26, Emily Breza, Columbia Business School.
 Do Credit Constraints Limit Entrepreneurship? Heterogeneity in the Returns to Microfinance (706 Kb)

Wednesday April 1, Juliane Begenau, Harvard Business School.
Capital Requirements, Risk Choice, and Liquidity Provision in a Business Cycle 
NB!! Seminar at 10:00!

Tuesday April 14, Colin Camerer, California Institute of Technology.
CANCELLED!!

Thursday April 16, Raphael Schoenle, Brandeis International Business School.
 YOLO: Can Subjective Life-Expectancies Explain Household Investment Puzzles? (425 Kb)

Tuesday April 21, David Berger, Northwestern University.
"Missing Aggregate Dynamics: On the Slow Convergence of Lumpy Adjustment Models"

Thursday April 23, Ian Crawford, University of Oxford.
"Nonparametric Analysis of Reference-Dependence"

Tuesday April 28, Manuel Bagues, Aalto University.
"What You Know Can’t Hurt You: a Field Experiment on Relative Performance Feedback Information"

Tuesday May 5, Philippe Aghion, Harvard University and IIES.
 Innovation and Top Income Inequality (500 Kb)
NB!! Seminar at 13:00!

Friday May 8, David Card*, University of California, Berkeley.
IIES and Department of Economics Seminar
"Bargaining, Sorting, and the Gender Wage Gap: Quantifying the Impact of Firms on the Relative Pay of Women"
NB!! In Ahlmannsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus, at 14:00.

Tuesday May 12, Pete Klenow, Stanford University.
How Destructive is Innovation?

Wednesday May 13, Dirk Krueger, University of Pennsylvania.
High Marginal Tax Rates on the Top 1%? Lessons from a Life Cycle Model with Idiosyncratic Income Risk

Wednesday May 20, Markus Brunnermeier, Princeton University.
 The I Theory of Money (1232 Kb)
NB!! Seminar at 10:00.

Thursday May 21, David Strömberg, IIES.
"Social Media in China"

Tuesday May 26, Robert Jensen, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
CANCELLED!!

Thursday May 28, Mark Gertler*, NYU.
IIES and Department of Economics Seminar
 Banking, Liquidity and Bank Runs in an Infinite Horizon Economy (360 Kb)
NB!! In William-Olssonsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus, at 15:00.

Tuesday June 2, Karam Kang, Carnegie Mellon University.
Winning by Default: Why is There so Little Competition in Government Procurement?

Thursday June 4, Tavneet Suri, MIT.
"Diversity and Team Performance in a Kenyan Organization"
NB!! Seminar at 10:00.

Thesis Defense!
Thursday June 4, Thorsten Rogall, IIES.
Title: The Economics of Genocide and War
In Högbomsalen, Geovetenskapens hus, at 13:00.
Opponent: Tavneet Suri, MIT.

Tuesday June 9, Melissa Dell, Harvard University.
State Capacity, Local Governance, and Economic Development in Vietnam

Thursday June 11, Nick Bloom, Stanford University.
 Management as a Technology (1339 Kb)