Spring 2016

Tuesday February 23 at 13:00, Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: "Who Becomes a Politician?"

Tuesday March 8 at 13:00, David Lagakos, University of California, San Diego
Title: "Urban-Rural Wage Gaps in Developing Countries: Spatial Misallocation or Efficient Sorting?"

Thursday March 10 at 15:00, Kjell Salvanes, Norwegian School of Economics, Bergen
Title: "Intergenerational Mobility and the Timing of Parental Income"

Thursday March 17 at 15:00, Hélène Rey, London Business School
Title: "Financial Cycle with Heterogeneous Intermediaries"

Tuesday March 22 at 13:00, Vasco Carvalho, CREI
Title: "Supply Chain Disruptions: Evidence From the Great East Japan Earthquake"

Thursday April 7 at 15:00, Fabrizio Zilibotti, University of Zurich
Title: "Networks in Conflict: Theory and Evidence from the Great War of Africa"

Tuesday April 12 at 13:00, Arizo Karimi, Uppsala University
Title: "Modern Family? Paternity Leave and Marital Stability"

Thursday April 14 at 15:00, John Cochrane*, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: "New Approaches to Monetary Policy"
Venue: William-Olssonsalen, Geovetenskapens hus.

Tuesday April 19 at 13:00, Valerie Ramey, University of California, San Diego
Title: "News Shocks in Open Economies: Evidence from Giant Oil Discoveries"

Thursday April 21 at 15:00, Jordi Galí*, CREI
Title: "Insider-Outsider Labor Markets, Hysteresis and Monetary Policy"
Venue: William-Olssonsalen, Geovetenskapens hus.

Tuesday April 26 at 13:00, Jakob Svensson, IIES
Title: "Low Quality, Low Returns, Low Adoption: Evidence from the Market for Fertilizer and Hybrid Seed in Uganda"

Thursday April 28 at 15:00, Seema Jayachandran, Northwestern University
Title: "Cash for Carbon: A Randomized Controlled Trial of Payments for Ecosystem Services to Reduce Deforestation"

Tuesday May 3 at 13:00, Matteo Bobba, Toulouse School of Economics
Title: "Learning About Oneself: The Effects of Signaling Academic Ability on School Choice"

Tuesday May 10 at 13:00, Olle Folke, Uppsala University
Title: "The Price of Promotion: Gender Differences in the Impact of Career Success on Divorce"

Thursday May 12 at 15:00, Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: "Democratic Values and Institutions"

Tuesday May 17 at 10:00, Vasiliki Fouka, Stanford University
Title: "Backlash: The Unintended Effects of Language Prohibition in US Schools after World War I"

Thursday May 19 at 15:00, Amanda Kowalski, Yale University
Title: "Doing More When You're Running LATE: Applying Marginal Treatment Effect Methods to Experiments"

Tuesday May 24 at 13:00, Jordi Blanes-I-Vidal, LSE
Title: "The Effect of Police Response Time on Crime Detection"

Thursday May 26 at 15:00, Jennifer La'O, Columbia University
Title: "Financial Frictions in Production Networks"

Tuesday May 31 at 13:00, Timo Boppart, IIES
Title: "Labor supply in the past, present, and future: a balanced-growth perspective"

Thursday June 2 at 15:00, Raj Chetty*, Stanford University
Title: "The Impacts of Neighborhoods on Intergenerational Mobility"
Venue: William-Olssonsalen, Geovetenskapens hus

Thursday June 9 at 15:00, Alessandro Pavan, Northwestern University
Title: "Differential Taxation and Occupational Choice"

Tuesday June 14 at 13:00, Frank Schilbach, MIT
Title: "Alcohol and Self-Control: A Field Experiment in India"

Thursday June 16 at 15:00, Manasi Deshpande, MIT
Title: "Does Welfare Inhibit Success? The Long-Term Effects of Removing Low-Income Youth from Disability Insurance"

 

Fall 2016

Tuesday August 30 at 13:00, Benjamin Moll, Princeton University
Title: N/A

Tuesday September 6 at 13:00, Mike Elsby, The University of Edinburgh
Title: "Vacancy Chains"

Tuesday September 13 at 13:00, Adrien Auclert, Stanford University
Title: "Inequality and Aggregate Demand"

Thursday September 15 at 10:00, Maria Petrova, IPEG
Title: "Social Media and Protest Participation: Evidence from Russia"

Monday September 19 at 15:00, Elias Papaioannou, LBS
Title: N/A

Tuesday September 20 at 10:00, Horacio Larreguy, Harvard University
Title: "A Market Equilibrium Approach to Reduce the Incidence of Vote-Buying: Evidence from Uganda"
(with Chris Blattman, Ben Marx, and Otis Reid)

Thursday September 22 at 15:00, Alwyn Young, LSE
Title: "Channelling Fisher"

Tuesday September 27 at 13:00, Francisco Buera, UCLA
Title: "The Global Diffusion of Ideas"
(with Ezra Oberfield)

Thursday September 29 at 15:00, Shengwu Li, Stanford University
Title: "Obviously Strategy-Proof Mechanisms"

Tuesday October 4 at 13:00, Christian Moser, Columbia Business School
Title: "Earnings Inequality and the Minimum Wage: Evidence from Brazil"
(with Niklas Engbom)

Thursday October 6 at 15:00, Klaus Schmidt, LMU Munich
Title: "Procurement with Unforeseen Contingencies"
(with Fabian Herweg)

Thursday October 11 at 13:00, Etienne Wasmer, Sciences Po Paris
Title: "Frictional Unemployment with Stochastic Bubbles"
(with Guillaume Vuillemey)

Thursday October 13 at 15:00, Marek Kapicka, University of California Santa Barbara
Title: "Quantifying the Welfare Gains from History Dependent Income Taxation"

Tuesday October 18 at 13:00, Kai Konrad, Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance
Title: "Coordination and the Fight against Tax Havens"

Tuesday October 25 at 13:00, Mariacristina De Nardi, UCL
Title: "The Implications of Richer Earnings Dynamics for Consumption and Wealth"

Thursday October 27 at 15:00, Emmanuel Farhi, Harvard University
Title: "Optimal Taxation with Behavioral Agents"
(with Xavier Gabaix)

Tuesday November 8 at 13:00, Rodrigo Adao, MIT
Title: "Worker Heterogeneity, Wage Inequality, and International Trade: Theory and Evidence from Brazil"

Tuesday November 10 at 15:00, Nathaniel Lane, IIES
Title: "Manufacturing Revolutions : Industrial Policy and Networks in South Korea"

Tuesday November 15 at 13:00, Cristina Arellano, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: "Private Leverage and Sovereign Default"

Thursday November 17 at 15:00, Treb Allen, Northwestern University
Title: "Allen and Arkolakis - Welfare and Transportation Networks"
(with Costas Arkolakis)

Tuesday November 22 at 13:00, Will Dobbie, Princeton University
Title: "Bad Credit, No Problem? Credit and Labor Market Consequences of Bad Credit Reports"

Thursday November 24 at 15:00, Erik Prawitz, IIES
Title: "Mass Migration, Cheap Labor, and Innovation"

Tuesday November 29 at 13:00, Melanie Morten, Stanford University
Title: "Roads, Trade and Migration: Evidence from a Planned Capital City"

Thursday December 1 at 15:00, Armin Falk, The University of Bonn
Title: N/A

Thursday December 15 at 15:00, Magne Mogstad, Chicago University
Title: "Using Instrumental Variables for Inference About Policy Relevant Treatment Effects"
(with A. Santos and A. Torgovitsky)