Spring 2009

Thursday January 8, Lars E.O. Svensson, Sveriges Riksbank
Title: "Optimal Monetary Policy in an Operational Medium-Sized DSGE Model"

Thursday March 5, Peter Nilsson, Uppsala University
Title: "Does a Pint a Day Affect your Child's Pay? The Effect of Prenatal Alcohol Exposure on Adult Outcomes"

Tuesday March 10, Emanuela Cardia, University of Montreal
Title: "The Household Revolution: Childcare, Housework, and Female Labor Force Participation"

Thursday March 12, Aysegul Sahin, Federal Reserve Bank
Title: "Unemployment Dynamics in the OECD"

Tuesday March 17, Nicola Gennaioli, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Title: "What Comes to Mind"

Thursday March 19, Pascaline Dupas, UCLA
Title: "Savings Constraints and Microenterprise Development: Evidence from a Field Experiment in Kenya"

Tuesday March 24, Richard Rogerson, Arizona State University
Title: "Micro and Macro Elasticities in a Life Cycle Model with Taxes"

Tuesday March 31, Per Pettersson-Lidbom, Stockholm University
Title: "Does a trained midwife reduce maternal and infant mortality?"

Thursday April 2, Marko Terviö, Berkeley
Title: "Overworked and Overpaid: Failure in the Market for Job Experience"

Tuesday April 12, Masayuki Kudamatsu, Torsten Persson and David Strömberg, IIES
Title: "Weather and Infant Mortality in Africa"

Thursday April 16, Fabrizio Zilibotti, Zürich University
Title: "Growing Like China"

Thursday April 23, Rajeev Dehejia, Tufts
Title: "Financial Incentives and Fertility"

Tuesday April 28, Miklos Koren, Central European University
Title: "A Spatial Explanation for the Balassa-Samuelson Effect"

Tuesday May 5, Jean-Marc Robin, Paris University
Title: "Labor Market Dynamics with Sequential Auctions"

Thursday May 7, Natalia Ramondo, University of Texas
Title: "Trade, Multinational Production, and the Gains from Openness"

Tuesday May 12, Marc Melitz, Princeton University
Title: "Market size, Competition, and the Product Mix of Exporter"

Thursday May 14, Sharun Mukand, Warwick University,
Title: "On Leadership and Institutional Change"

Tuesday May 19, Bård Harstad, Northwestern University
Title: "The Dynamics of Climate Agreements"

Tuesday May 26, Philippe Aghion, Harvard University
Title: "The Environment and Directed Technical Change"

Thursday May 28, Alexander Gelber, NBER
Title: "Incentives and the Allocation of Time: Evidence on Home Production, Labor Supply, and Leisure"

Tuesday June 2, Kjetil Storesletten, Oslo University
Title: "Rotten Parents and Disciplined Children:A Politico-Economic Theory of
Public Expenditure and Debt"

Wednesday June 3, Ragnar Torvik, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Title: "Endogenous Presidentialism"

Tuesday June 9, Rachel Ngai, London School of Economics
Title: "Hot and Cold Seasons in the Housing Market"

Thursday June 11, Dennis Snower, IFW Kiel
Title: "An Incentive Theory of Matching"

Friday June 12, Nancy Qian, Harvard University
Title: "The Power of Propaganda: The Effect of U.S. Government Bias on Cold War News Coverage of Human Rights Abuses"

Tuesday June 16, Dean Karlan, Yale University
Title: "Put Your Money where Your Butt Is: A Commitment Contract for Smoking Cessation"

 

Fall 2009

Tuesday August 18, Jim Snyder, MIT
Title: "The Returns to Political Office in the U.S., 1845 - 1875"

Thursday August 20, Kristoffer Nimark, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
Title: "Dynamic Higher Order Expectations"

Tuesday September 1, Lars Lefgren, Brigham Young University
Title: "The Persistence of Teacher-Induced Learning"

Thursday September 3, Andrew Eggers, Harvard University
Title: "Proportional Representation and the Number of Parties: Evidence from a Natural Experiment in French Municipalities"

Tuesday September 8, Joseph Zeira, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Title: "Globalization and Divergence"

Thursday September 10, Tarek Hassan, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: "Country Size, Currency Unions, and International Asset Returns"

Tuesday September 15, Conny Olovsson, IIES
Title: "Energy-Saving Technical Change"

Wednesday September 23, Rohini Pande, Harvard
Title: "Building Social Capital through Microfinance"

Thursday September 24, Karin Edmark, IIES
Title: "Math and Money: The Causal Fffects of High School Math on Labor Market Outcomes"

Tuesday September 29, Tessa Bold, IIES
Title: "Contract Design in Insurance Groups"

Thursday October 1, Jan Klingelhöfer, IIES
Title: "The Swing Voters' Blessing"

Tuesday October 6, Christian Gollier, University Toulouse
Title: "Socially Efficient Discounting Under Ambiguity Aversion"

Thursday October 8, Jason Shogren, University of Wyoming
Title: "Preference elicitation under oath"

Tuesday October 13, Antonio Merlo, University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Labor Market of Italian Politicians"

Thursday October 15, David Yanagizawa, IIES
Title: "Propaganda and Conflict: Theory and Evidence From the Rwandan Genocide"

Tuesday October 20, Eliana La Ferrara, Bocconi
Title: "A test of racial bias in capital sentencing"

Thursday October 22, Bernardo Guimaraes, London School of Economics
Title: "A Theory of Equilibrium Government"

Thursday November 5, Marek Kapicka, University of California Santa Barbara
Title: "The Dynamics of Optimal Taxation when Human Capital is Endogenous"

Tuesday November 10, Joachim Voth, Pompeu Fabra
Title: "How the West ’Invented’ Fertility Restriction"

Thursday November 12, Olle Folke, IIES
Title: "Shades of Brown and Green: Party Effects in Proportional Election Systems"

Tuesday November 17, Matti Sarvimäki, London School of Economics
Title: "Self-Reinforcing Shocks: Evidence from a Resettlement Policy"

Thursday November 19, Marc Meredith, University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Effect of Convenience Voting on Election Outcomes: Implications for Public Policy and the Study of Momentum in Campaigns"

Tuesday November 24, Guido Sandleris, Johns Hopkins University
Title: "The Cost of Emerging Market Financial Crises: Output, Productivity and Welfare"

Thursday November 26, Roberto Billi, Rederal Reserve Kansas City
Title: "Price-Level Targeting and Risk Management in a Low-Inflation Economy"

Tuesday December 1, John Hassler, IIES
Title: "Optimal Taxes on Fossil Fuel in General Equilibrium"

Tuesday December 15, Erik Meyersson, IIES
Title: "Islamic Rule and the Emancipation of the Poor and Pious"

Thursday December 17, Lena Edlund, Columbia
Title: "Son Preference, Sex Selection and Economic Development: Theory and Evidence from South Korea"