Spring 2014

Tuesday March 4, Christopher Sleet, Carnegie Mellon
Title: "Tasks, Talents and Taxes"

Thursday March 13, Robert Sugden, University of East Anglia
Title: "Why Incoherent Preferences do Not Make Paternalism Inevitable"

Tuesday March 18, Gueorgui Kambourov, University of Toronto
Title: "Relationship Skills in the Labor and Marriage Markets"

Thursday March 20, Gharad Bryan, LSE
Title: "Under-investment in a Profitable Technology: The Case of Seasonal Migration in Bangladesh"

Tuesday March 25, Ernesto Dal Bo, UC Berkeley
Title: "The Demand for Bad Policy When Voters Underappreciate Equilibrium Effects"

Thursday March 27, Rocco Macchiavello, University of Warwick
Title: "Trust, Efficiency and Organization of Rwanda Coffee Washing Station"

Tuesday April 1, Monica Martinez-Bravo, CEMFI
Title: "Educate to Lead? The Effect of Politicians’ Education on Public Good Provision: Evidence from Java"

Thursday April 3, Georg Duernecker, Mannheim University and IIES
Title: "On the Allocation of Time"

Tuesday April 8, Francois Gourio, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: "Financial Distress and Endogenous Uncertainty"

Thursday April 10, Hakki Yazici, Sabanci University and IIES
Title: "Differential Taxation of Capital"

Tuesday April 22, Alex Peysakhovich, Harvard University and Yale University
Title: "Habits of Virtue: Creating Norms of Cooperation and Defection in the Laboratory" & "The Cooperative Phenotype Social Heuristics Shape Intuitive Cooperation"

Thursday April 24, Erik Wengström, Lund University
Title: "Risk Aversion Relates to Cognitive Ability: Preferences or Noise?"

Tuesday April 29, Tim Lee, University of Mannheim
Title: "The Option Value of Human Capital"

Tuesday May 6, Philippe Aghion, Harvard University and IIES
Title: "Inducing Leaders to take Risky Decisions: Dismissal, Tenure and Term Limits"

Thursday May 8, Ariel Rubenstein, Tel Aviv University and NYU
Title: "Back to Fundamentals: Abstract Competitive Equilibrium"

Tuesday May 13, Nils-Petter Lagerlöf, York University
Title: "Statehood, Democracy, and Preindustrial Development"

Thursday May 15, Ethan Kaplan, University of Maryland
Title: "The Turnout and Partisanship Consequences of Restrictive Voting Laws in the United States"

Thursday May 22, Wolfram Schlenker, Columbia University
Title: "Weather Anomalies, Crop Yields, and Migration in the US Corn Belt"

Tuesday May 27, Oleg Itskhoki, Princeton University
Title: "Optimal Development Policies with Financial Frictions"

Monday June 2, Randy Wright, University of Michigan
Title: N/A

Thursday June 5, Petra Persson, Stanford University
Title: "Family Ruptures and Intergenerational Transmission of Stress"

Tuesday June 10, Rebecca Diamond, Stanford University
Title: "The Determinants and Welfare Implications of US Workers' Diverging Location Choices by Skill: 1980-2000"

Thursday June 12, Tommaso Nannicini, Bocconi University
Title: "How Do Voters Respond to Information? Evidence from a Randomized Campaign"

Tuesday June 17, Jim Snyder, Harvard University
Title: N/A

 

Fall 2014

Thursday August 21, Amanda Pallais, Harvard University.
Title: "Smart Money: A Randomized Evaluation of Targeted Post-Secondary Aid."

Tuesday September 2, Per Pettersson-Lidbom, Stockholm University.
Title: "Midwives and Maternal Mortality: Evidence from a Midwifery Policy Experiment in Sweden in the 19th Century"

Thursday September 4, Roland Benabou, Princeton University.
Title: "Bonus Culture: Competitive Pay, Screening, and Multitasking"

Tuesday September 9, Tarek Hassan, Chicago Booth.
Title: "The Power of the Street: Evidence from Egypt's Arab Spring"

Thursday September 11, Charles Jones, Stanford University.
Title: "A Schumpeterian Model of Top Income Inequality"

Tuesday September 16, Jonathan de Quidt, IIES.
Title: "Your Loss Is My Gain: A Recruitment Experiment With Framed Incentives"

Tuesday September 23, Chang-Tai Hsieh, Chicago Booth.
Title: "Crony Capitalism with Chinese Characteristics"

Thursday September 25, Kurt Mitman, IIES.
Title: "What Can Three (and a half) Natural Experiments Tell Us About the Effects of Unemployment Benefit Extensions?"

Tuesday September 30, Jean-Baptiste Michau, Ecole Polytechnique.
Title: "Monetary and Fiscal Policy in a Liquidity Trap with In‡flation Persistence"

Thursday October 2, Claudio Ferraz, PUC-Rio.
Title: "Procuring Firm Growth: The Effects of Government Purchases on Firm Dynamics"

Tuesday October 7, Leonardo Bursztyn, UCLA.
Title: "How Does Peer Pressure Affect Educational Investments?"

Thursday October 9, Thorsten Rogall, IIES.
Title: "Armed Groups, Civilians, and Muddy Roads: The Conduct of Political Mass Murder"

Brown Bag Seminar
Monday October 13, Mounir Karadja, IIES.
Title: "Richer (and Holier) than Thou? The Effect of Relative Income Improvements on Preferences for Redistribution"

Tuesday October 14, Imran Rasul, UCL.
Title: "State-Building Through Compulsory Schooling: The Response of American States to Mass Migration in the Nineteenth Century"

Thursday October 16, Andrew Oswald, University of Warwick.
Title: "Human Well-Being and In-Work Benefits: A Randomized Controlled Trial"

Brown Bag Seminar
Monday 20 October, Shuhei Kitamura, IIES.
Title: "Children and Machines in Production during the Age of Mass Employment"

Tuesday October 21, Jean Imbs, Paris School of Economics.
Title: "Finance and Synchronization"

Thursday October 23, Vincent Sterk, UCL.
Title: "The Growth Potential of Startups over the Business Cycle"

Brown Bag Seminar
Monday 27 October, Ingvild Almås, Norwegian School of Economics and IIES.
Title: N/A

Tuesday November 4, Joan Monras, Sciences Po.
Title: N/A

Brown Bag Seminar
Monday 10 November, Spiros Sichlimiris, Stockholm School of Economics.
Title: N/A

Tuesday November 11, Nicolas Coeurdacier, Sciences Po.
Title: "The One-Child Policy and Household Savings"

Thursday November 13, Tore Ellingsen, Stockholm School of Economics.
Title: "Money in General Equilibrium: Theory and Policy"

Tuesday November 18, Marcus Hagedorn, University of Oslo.
Title: "Demand Stimulus and Inflation: Empirical Evidence"

Thursday November 20, Christian Fons-Rosen, Universitat Pompeu Fabra.
Title: "The Consequences of Entrepreneurial Firm Founding on Innovation"

Tuesday November 25, Juanne Joensen, Stockholm School of Economics.
Title: "Peer Effects in Math and Science"

Thursday November 27, Paul Milgrom, Stanford University.
Title: "Prices and Decentralization without Convexity"

Tuesday December 2, Robert Shimer, University of Chicago and IIES.
Title: "Decomposing Duration Dependence in the Job Finding Rate in a Stopping Time Model"

Thursday December 4, Torsten Persson, IIES.
Title: "Norms, Enforcement, and Tax Evasion"

Wednesday December 17, Alp Simsek, MIT.
Title: "Investment Hangover and the Great Recession"

Thursday December 18, Bengt Holmström, MIT.
Title: "Banks as Secret Keepers"