Spring 2017

Monday 20 February at 13:00

Johannes Haushofer, Princeton University
Title: Peace of Mind: Health Insurance Reduces Stress and Cortison Levels – Evidence from a Randomized Experiment in Kenya

Thursday 9 March at 15:00

Corina Boar, University of Rochester
Title: Dynastic Precautionary Savings

Tuesday 14 March at 13:00

Venky Venkateswaran, New York University
Title: Capital Misallocation: Frictions or Distortions?

Thursday 16 March at 15:00

Jaroslav Borovicka, New York University
Title: Identifying Ambiguity Shocks in Business Cycle Models Using Survey Data

Tuesday 21 March at 13:00

Joseph Vavra, Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: Regional Heterogeneity and Monetary Policy

Thursday 23 March at 15:00

Martina Björkman, Stockholm School of Economics
Title: Preferences Versus Bargaining Power: The Effects of Targeting Mothers or Fathers to Improve Child Health
(with Seema Jayachandran)

Tuesday 28 March at 13:00

Kristoffer Nimark, Cornell University Ithaca
Title: Delegated Information Choice
(with Stefan Pitschner)

Thursday 30 March at 15:00

Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Princeton University
Title: Intangibles, Inequality and Stagnation

Tuesday 4 April at 13:00

Lint Barrage, Brown University
Title: Heterogeneous Climate Risk Beliefs and Coastal Home Price Dynamics: Going Under Water?

Thursday 6 April at 15:00

Aysegul Sahin, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: Demographic Origins of the Startup Deficit
(with Fatih Karahan and Ben Pugsley)

Thursday 20 April at 15:00

Simon Jäger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Title: How Substitutable Are Workers? Evidence from Worker Deaths

Tuesday 25 April at 13:00

Erik Hurst, Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: Leisure Luxuries and the Labor Supply of Young Men

Thursday 27 April at 15:00

Joana Naritomi, London School of Economics
Title: Consumers as Tax Auditors

Tuesday 2 May at 13:00

Hoyt Bleakley, University of Michigan
Title: A Nudge to School: Triangulating the Gains

Thursday 4 May at 10:00

Burhan Kuruscu, University of Toronto
Title: Use It or Loose It: Efficiency Gains from Wealth Taxation
(with Fatih Guvenen, Gueorgui Kambourov, Sergio Ocampo Diaz, and Daphne Chen)

Tuesday 9 May at 13:00

Dan-Olof Rooth, SOFI, Stockholm University
Title: Long-Run Effects of Free, Universal and Nutritious School Lunches: Evidence from a Swedish Reform

Thursday 11 May at 15:00

Mark Bils, University of Rochester
Title: Misallocation or Mismeasurement?

Tuesday 16 May at 13:00

Annie Liang, University of Pennsylvania
Title: The Theory is Predictive, but is it Complete? An Application to Human Perception of Randomness
(with Jon Kleinberg and Sendhil Mullainathan)

Thursday 18 May at 15:00

Kaveh Majlesi, Lund Universitet
Title: Importing Political Polarization? The Electoral Consequences of Rising Trade Exposure
(with David Autor, David Dorn and Gordon Hanson)

Tuesday 23 May at 13:00

Christopher Neilson, Princeton University
Title: Heterogeneous Beliefs and School Choice Mechanisms
(with Adam Kapor and Seth Zimmerma)

Tuesday 30 May at 13:00

Gautam Rao, Harvard University
Title: Status Goods: Experimental Evidence from Platinum Credit Cards

Tuesday 13 June at 13:00 

Xavier Gabaix, Harvard University
Title: A Behavioural New Keynesian Model

Thursday 15 June at 15:00

Lise Vesterlund, University of Pittsburgh
Title: Motives for Giving Reconsidered
Paper to be discussed - Why Do People Give? Testing Pure and Impure Altruism

Friday 16 June at 10:00

Marco Bassetto, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: Is Inflation Default? The Role of Information in Debt Crises 
(with Carlo Galli)

Fall 2017

Tuesday 29 August at 13:00

Virgiliu Midrigan, New York University
Title: Skill-Biased Technical Change and Development

Monday 4 September at 13:00

Rohini Pande, Harvard University
Title: On Her Account: Can Strengthening Women's Financial Control Boost Female Labor Supply?

Thursday 7 September at 15:00

Ben Jones, Northwestern University
Title: University Innovation and the Professor's Privilege

Tuesday 12 September at 13:00

Meredith Startz, Princeton University
Title: The Value of Face-to-Face: Search and Contracting Problems in Nigerian Trade

Thursday 14 September at 15:00

Matthew Gentzkow, Stanford University
Title: Place-Specific Drivers of Mortality: Evidence from Patient Migration

Tuesday 19 September at 10:00

Chris Tonetti, Stanford University
Title: Reconciling Models of Diffusion and Innovation: A Theory of the Productivity Distribution and Technology Frontier
(with Jess Benhabib and Jesse Perla)

Thursday 21 September at 15:00

Guido Imbens, Stanford University
Title: Matrix Completion Methods for Causal Panel Data Models (slides)

Tuesday 26 September at 13:00

Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: Organizational Dynamics: Culture, Design, and Performance
(with Tim Besley)

Thursday 28 September at 15:00

Eliana La Ferrara, Bocconi University
Title: The Entertaining Way to Behavioral Change
(with A. Banerjee and V. Orozco)

Tuesday 3 October at 13:00

Matthias Doepke, Northwestern University
Title: Bargaining over Babies: Theory, Evidence, and Policy Implications

Thursday 5 October at 15:00

David Yanagizawa-Drott, University of Zurich
Title: Long-Range Growth: Economic Development in the Global Network of Air Links

Tuesday 10 October at 13:00

Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota
Title: Worker Mobility and the Diffusion of Knowledge
(with Jeremy Lise, Guido Menzio, and Gordon Phillips)

Thursday 12 October at 15:00

Peter Hull, Microsoft Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Title: Estimating Hospital Quality with Quasi-experimental Data

Tuesday 17 October at 13:00

Alex Rees-Jones, Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania
Title: Why Do We Lie to Incentive-Compatible Mechanisms? Evidence from Medical Students
(with Sam Skowronek)

Thursday 19 October at 15:00

Laura Veldkamp, New York University
Title: The Tail that Wags the Economy: Beliefs and Persistent Stagnation

Tuesday 24 October at 13:00

Todd Schoellman, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: Human Capital and Development Accounting: New Evidence from Wage Gains at Migration
(with Lutz Hendricks)

Thursday 26 October at 15:00

Gabriel Zucman, University of California Berkeley
Title: Wealth Accumulation and Wealth Taxation: Theory and Evidence from Denmark
(with Katrine Jakobsen, Kristian Jakobsen, and Henrik Kleven)

Tuesday 7 November at 13:00

Mathias Iwanowsky, IIES
Title: Property Rights, Resources and Wealth: Evidence from a large land reform in the United States

Thursday 9 November at 15:00

Florian Zimmerman, University of Zurich
Title: The Dynamics of Motivated Beliefs

Tuesday 14 November at 13:00

Moritz Lenel, Stanford University
Title: Safe Assets, Collateralized Lending and Monetary Policy

Tuesday 21 November at 13:00

Pablo Fajgelbaum, University of California Los Angeles
Title: Optimal Spatial Policies, Geography and Sorting
(with Cecile Gauber)

Thursday 23 November at 15:00

Jonathan de Quidt, IIES
Title: Land Trade and Development: A Market Design Approach
(with Gharad Bryan, Tom Wilkening and Nitin Yadav)

Monday 27 November at 12:00

Sirus Dehdari, IIES
Title: Economic Distress and Support for Far-right Parties -  Evidence from Sweden

Tuesday 12 December at 13:00

Xavier Jaravel, London School of Economics
Title: The Unequal Gains from Product Innovations

Thursday 14 December at 15:00

Wenlan Luo, Georgetown University
Title: The Consumer Credit Channel of Monetary Policy

Tuesday 19 December at 13:00

Pol Antras, Harvard University
Title: On the Geography of Global Value Chains
(with Alonso de Gortari)

Thursday 21 December at 15:00

Chenggang Xu, Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Title: Political Economy of Making an Authoritarian Constitution: The Case of China
(with Di Guo, Kun Jiang and Yutong Wang)