Spring 2019

Thursday 21st of February at 15.00

Heather Sarsons, Chicago Booth
Title: Interpreting Signals in the Labor Market: Evidence from Medical Referrals

Tuesday 5 March at 13.00

Barbara Petrongolo, Queen Mary University of London

Thursday 7 March at 15.00

Guy Michaels, London School of Economics
Title: Individual Consequences of Occupational Decline (with Per Anders Edin, Tiernan Evans, Georg Graetz and Sofia Hernnäs)

Tuesday 12 March at 13.00

Ludwig Straub, Harvard University
Title: Investment, heterogeneity, inattention

Thursday 14 March at 15.00

Kalina Manova, UCL
Title: Productivity, (Mis)allocation and Trade (with Antoine Berthou, Charlotte Sandoz Dit Bragard and John Jong-Hyun Chung)

Tuesday 19 March at 13.00

Fabian Waldinger, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich
Title: Discrimination, Managers, and Firm Performance: Evidence from "Aryanizations" in Nazi Germany (with Kilian Huber & Volker Lindenthal)

Tuesday 26 March at 13.00

Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln, Goethe University Frankfurt
Title: Explaining Hours Worked Across and Within Countries: Income Effects vs. Taxes and Transfers

Tuesday 2 April at 13.00

Paula Bustos, CEMFI
Title: Capital Accumulation and Structural Transformation (with Jacopo Ponticelli and Gabriel Garber)

Thursday 4 April at 15.00

Joan Llull, Autonoma
Title: Title: Selective Immigration Policies and the U.S. Labor Market

Thursday 11 April at 15.00

Adam Szeidl, CEU
Title: Direct and Indirect Effects of Financial Access on SMEs (with Jing Cai)

Tuesday 16 April at 13.00

Heather Schofield, Perelman School of Medicine and The Wharton School
Title: Sleepless in Chennai: The Consequences of Improving Sleep among the Urban Poor

Tuesday 30 April at 13.00

Ludo Visschers, University of Edinburgh
Title: Unemployment and Endogenous Reallocation over the Business Cycle (with Carlos Carrillo-Tudela)

Tuesday 7 Maj at 13.00

Martin Beraja, MIT Economics
Title: Skill-biased Technological Transitions

Tuesday 14 May at 13.00

Gianluca Violante, Princeton University
Title: Firm and Worker Dynamics in a Frictional Labor Market

Tuesday 21 May at 13.00

Hunt Alcott, New York University
Title: Payday Lending, Behavioral Bias, and Consumer Protection (with Joshua Kim, Dmitry Taubinsky, and Jonathan Zinman)

Thursday 23 May at 15.00

Rema Hanna, Harvard Kennedy School
Title: The challenges of universal health insurance in developing countries: Evidence from a large-scale randomized experiment in Indonesia (with Abhijit Banerjee, Amy Finkelstein, Benjamin Olken, Arianna Ornaghi and Sudarno Sumarto)

Tuesday 28 May at 13.00

Susanto Basu, Boston College
Title: Should Central Banks Target Investment Prices? (with Pierre De Leo)

Wednesday 19 June at 15.00

Petra Persson, Stanford University
Title: Hur kan ojämlikheter i hälsa och livslängd minskas? (Seminar in Swedish.)

Fall 2019

Tuesday 20 August at 13.00

Greg Kaplan, University of Chicago
Title: Markups, Labor Market Inequality and the Nature of Work (with Piotr Zoch)

Tuesday 27 August at 13.00

Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: The Dynamics of Enviromental Politics and Values (with Timothy Besley)

Thursday 29 August at 13.00

Arash Nekoei, IIES
Title:

Tuesday 3 September at 13.00

Isaac Sorkin, Stanford University
Title: Granular Search, Market Structure, and Wages (with Gregor Jarosch and Jan Sebastian Nimczik)

Thursday 5 September at 15.00

Noam Yuchtman, London School of Economics (LSE)
Title: Persistent Political Engagement: Social Interactions and the Dynamics of Protest Movements (with Leonardo Bursztyn, Davide Cantoni, David Yang and Jane Zhang)

Thursday 12 September at 15.00

Joshua Gottlieb, University of Chicago
Title: What Does Health Care Billing Cost, and Why Does it Matter? 

Tuesday 17 September at 13.00

Basile Grassi, Bocconi University
Title: Bottom-up Markup Fluctuations (with Ariel Burstein and Vasco M. Carvalho)

Thursday 19 September at 15.00

Emilien Gouin-Bonenfant, Columbia University
Title: Productivity Dispersion, Between-Firm Competition, and the Labor Share

Thursday 26 September at 10.00

Sasha Indarte, Duke University
Title: The Impact of Debt Relief Generosity and Liquid Wealth on Household Bankruptcy

Thursday 3 October at 10.00

Aysegul Sahin, UT Austin
Title: A Unified Approach to Measuring u (with Richard K. Crump, Stefano Eusepi and Marc Giannoni)

Tuesday 8 October at 13.00

Eric Zwick, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: Top Wealth in the United States: New Estimates and Implications for Taxing the Rich, with Matthew Smith and Owen Zidar.

Thursday 10 October at 10.00

Christina Patterson, Northwestern University / Chicago Booth
Title: The Matching Multiplier and the Amplification of Recessions

Thursday 17 October at 15.00

Has Van Vlokhoven, IIES
Title: Estimating the Cost of Capital and the Profit Share

Tuesday 22 October at 13.00

Benedetta Lerva, IIES
Title: Quantifying Externalities in Technology Adoption: Experimental Evidence from Ugandan Farmers  

Thursday 24 October at 12.00 

Monica Gehrig-Merz, University of Vienna
Title: 'Couples' Time-Use and Aggregate Outcomes: Evidence from a Structural Model, with Almut Balleer and Tamas Papp.

Tuesday 5 November at 13.00

Ekaterina Zhuravskaya, Paris School of Economics
Title: Diffusion of Gender Norms: Evidence from Stalin's Ethnic Deportations with Alexandra Jarotschkin

Wednesday 6 November at 13.00 

Selene Ghisolfi, IIES
Title: Contribution Requirements and Redistribution Decisions: Experimental evidence from Bangladesh

Thursday 7 November at 10.00

Elliot Ash, ETH Zurich
Title: More laws, more growth? Theory and evidence from U.S. states, with Massimo Morelli, and Matia Vannoni.

Friday 8 November at 10.00 

Kasper Kragh-Sorensen, IIES
Title: Optimal property taxation

Friday 8 November at 14.00 

Markus Karlman, IIES
Title: A Quantitative Investigation of House Price Fundamentals

Monday 11 November at 13.00 

Karin Kinnerud, IIES
Title: Monetary Policy and the Mortgage Market

Tuesday 12 November at 13.00

Siwan Anderson, University of British Columbia - Vancouver School of Economics
Title: TBA

Wednesday 13 November at 14.00 

Deepak Nayyar, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Title: Economic Development in Asia: Learning from a half-century of Transformations

Thursday 14 November at 10.00

Alisdair McKay, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: Lumpy Durable Consumption Demand and the Limited Ammunition of Monetary Policy

Tuesday 19 November at 13.00

Kjetil Storesletten, University of Oslo
Title: Business Cycle during Structural Change: Arthur Lewis' Theory from a Neoclassical Perspective

Wednesday 20 November at 14.00 

Richard Foltyn, IIES
Title: Experience-based Learning, Stock Market Participation and Portfolio Choice

Thursday 21 November at 10.00

Suresh Naidu, Columbia School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA)
Title: Monopsony and Employer Mis-optimization Explain Why Wages Bunch at Round Numbers

Tuesday 26 November at 13.00

Anne Karing, Princeton University
Title: Social Signaling and Childhood Immunization: A Field Experiment in Sierra Leone

Thursday 28 November at 15.00 

Jerome Adda, Bocconi University
Title: There’s More to Marriage than Love: The Effect of Legal Status and Cultural Distance on Intermarriages and Separations

Monday 16 December at 13.00

Hannes Malmberg, University of Minnesota
Title: DAGs of Development — Graphical Causal Models and Long-Run Income Differences