Spring 2017

Monday February 20 at 13:00, Johannes Haushofer, Princeton University
Title: "Peace of Mind: Health Insurance Reduces Stress and Cortison Levels – Evidence from a Randomized Experiment in Kenya"

Thursday March 9 at 15:00, Corina Boar, University of Rochester
Title: "Dynastic Precautionary Savings"

Tuesday March 14 at 13:00, Venky Venkateswaran, NYU
Title: "Capital Misallocation: Frictions or Distortions?"

Thursday March 16 at 15:00, Jaroslav Borovicka, NYU
Title: "Identifying Ambiguity Shocks in Business Cycle Models Using Survey Data"

Tuesday March 21 at 13:00, Joseph Vavra, Chicago Booth
Title: "Regional Heterogeneity and Monetary Policy"

Thursday March 23 at 15:00, Martina Björkman, SSE
Title: "Preferences Versus Bargaining Power: The effects of targeting mothers or fathers to improve child health"
(with Seema Jayachandran)

Tuesday March 28 at 13:00, Kristoffer Nimark, Cornell University Ithaca
Title: "Delegated Information Choice"
(with Stefan Pitschner)

Thursday March 30 at 15:00, Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Princeton University
Title: "Intangibles, Inequality and Stagnation"

Tuesday April 4 at 13:00, Lint Barrage, Brown University
Title: "Heterogeneous Climate Risk Beliefs and Coastal Home Price Dynamics: Going Under Water?"

Thursday April 6 at 15:00, Aysegul Sahin, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Title: "Demographic Origins of the Startup Deficit"
(with Fatih Karahan and Ben Pugsley)

Thursday April 20 at 15:00, Simon Jäger, MIT
Title: “How Substitutable Are Workers? Evidence from Worker Deaths”

Tuesday April 25 at 13:00, Erik Hurst, Chicago Booth
Title: "Leisure Luxuries and the Labor Supply of Young Men"

Thursday April 27 at 15:00, Joana Naritomi, LSE
Title: "Consumers as Tax Auditors"

Tuesday May 2 at 13:00, Hoyt Bleakley, University of Michigan
Title: "A Nudge to School: Triangulating the Gains"

Thursday May 4 at 10:00, Burhan Kuruscu, University of Toronto
Title: "Use It or Loose It: Efficiency Gains from Wealth Taxation"
(with Fatih Guvenen, Gueorgui Kambourov, Sergio Ocampo Diaz, and Daphne Chen)

Tuesday May 9 at 13:00, Dan-Olof Rooth, SOFI, SU
Title: "Long-Run Effects of Free, Universal and Nutritious School Lunches: Evidence from a Swedish Reform"

Thursday May 11 at 15:00, Mark Bils, University of Rochester
Title: "Misallocation or Mismeasurement?"

Tuesday May 16 at 13:00, Annie Liang, University of Pennsylvania
Title: "The Theory is Predictive, but is it Complete? An Application to Human Perception of Randomness"
(with Jon Kleinberg and Sendhil Mullainathan)

Thursday May 18 at 15:00, Kaveh Majlesi, Lund Universitet
Title: "Importing Political Polarization? The Electoral Consequences of Rising Trade Exposure"
(with David Autor, David Dorn and Gordon Hanson)

Tuesday May 23 at 13:00, Christopher Neilson, Princeton University
Title: "Heterogeneous Beliefs and School Choice Mechanisms"
(with Adam Kapor and Seth Zimmerma)

Tuesday May 30 at 13:00, Gautam Rao, Harvard University
Title: "Status Goods: Experimental Evidence from Platinum Credit Cards"

Tuesday June 13 at 13:00, Xavier Gabaix, Harvard University
Title: "A Behavioural New Keynesian Model"

Thursday June 15 at 15:00, Lise Vesterlund, University of Pittsburgh
Title: Motives for Giving Reconsidered
Paper to be discussed - "Why Do People Give? Testing Pure and Impure Altruism".

Friday June 16 at 10:00, Marco Bassetto, Federal reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: Is Inflation Default? The Role of Information in Debt Crises 
(with Carlo Galli)

 

Fall 2017

Tuesday August 29 at 13:00, Virgiliu Midrigan, New York University
Title: “Skill-Biased Technical Change and Development”

Monday September 4 at 13:00, Rohini Pande, Harvard University
Title: “On Her Account: Can Strengthening Women's Financial Control Boost Female Labor Supply?

Thursday September 7 at 15:00, Ben Jones, Northwestern University
Title: “University Innovation and the Professor's Privilege

Tuesday September 12 at 13:00, Meredith Startz, Princeton University
Title: “The Value of Face-to-Face: Search and Contracting Problems in Nigerian Trade”

Thursday September 14 at 15:00, Matthew Gentzkow, Stanford University
Title: “Place-Specific Drivers of Mortality: Evidence from Patient Migration

Tuesday September 19 at 10:00, Chris Tonetti, Stanford University
Title: “Reconciling Models of Diffusion and Innovation: A Theory of the Productivity Distribution and Technology Frontier
(with Jess Benhabib and Jesse Perla)

Thursday September 21 at 15:00, Guido Imbens, Stanford University
Title: “Matrix Completion Methods for Causal Panel Data Models” (slides)

Tuesday September 26 at 13:00, Torsten Persson, IIES, Stockholm University
Title: “Organizational Dynamics: Culture, Design, and Performance”
(with Tim Besley)

Thursday September 28 at 15:00, Eliana La Ferrara, Bocconi University
Title: “The Entertaining Way to Behavioral Change
(with A. Banerjee and V. Orozco)

Tuesday October 3 at 13:00, Matthias Doepke, Northwestern University
Title: “Bargaining over Babies: Theory, Evidence, and Policy Implications

Thursday October 5 at 15:00, David Yanagizawa-Drott, University of Zurich
Title: “Long-Range Growth: Economic Development in the Global Network of Air Links” 

Tuesday October 10 at 13:00, Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota
Title: “Worker Mobility and the Diffusion of Knowledge
(with Jeremy Lise, Guido Menzio, and Gordon Phillips)

Thursday October 12 at 15:00, Peter Hull, Microsoft Research, M.I.T.
Title: “Estimating Hospital Quality with Quasi-experimental Data

Tuesday October 17 at 13:00, Alex Rees-Jones, Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania
Title: “Why Do We Lie to Incentive-Compatible Mechanisms? Evidence from Medical Students
(with Sam Skowronek)

Thursday October 19 at 15:00, Laura Veldkamp, NYU
Title:” The Tail that Wags the Economy: Beliefs and Persistent Stagnation

Tuesday October 24 at 13:00, Todd Schoellman, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: “Human Capital and Development Accounting: New Evidence from Wage Gains at Migration
(with Lutz Hendricks)

Thursday October 26 at 15:00, Gabriel Zucman, Berkeley
Title: “Wealth Accumulation and Wealth Taxation: Theory and Evidence from Denmark”
(with Katrine Jakobsen, Kristian Jakobsen, and Henrik Kleven)

Tuesday November 7 at 13:00, Mathias Iwanowsky, IIES, Stockholm University
Title: “Property Rights, Resources and Wealth: Evidence from a large land reform in the United States

Thursday November 9 at 15:00, Florian Zimmerman, University of Zurich
Title: “The Dynamics of Motivated Beliefs”

Tuesday November 14 at 13:00, Moritz Lenel, Stanford University
Title: “Safe Assets, Collateralized Lending and Monetary Policy

Tuesday November 21 at 13:00, Pablo Fajgelbaum, UCLA
Title: “Optimal Spatial Policies, Geography and Sorting”
(with Cecile Gauber)

Thursday November 23 at 15:00, Jonathan de Quidt, IIES, Stockholm University
Title: “Land Trade and Development: A Market Design Approach
(with Gharad Bryan, Tom Wilkening and Nitin Yadav)

Monday November 27 at 12:00, Sirus Dehdari, IIES, Stockholm University
Title: “Economic Distress and Support for Far-right Parties -  Evidence from Sweden

Tuesday December 12 at 13:00, Xavier Jaravel, LSE
Title: “The Unequal Gains from Product Innovations

Thursday December 14 at 15:00, Wenlan Luo, Georgetown University
Title: “The Consumer Credit Channel of Monetary Policy

Tuesday December 19 at 13:00, Pol Antras, Harvard University
Title: “On the Geography of Global Value Chains
(with Alonso de Gortari)

Thursday December 21 at 15:00, Chenggang Xu, Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business
Title: “Political Economy of Making an Authoritarian Constitution: The Case of China
(with Di Guo, Kun Jiang and Yutong Wang)