Job Talks

Monday January 15 at 10:00, Matt Lowe, MIT
Title:  Types of Contact: A Field Experiment on Collaborative and Adversarial Caste Integration (1870 Kb)

Tuesday January 16 at 10:00, Edoardo Teso, Harvard University
Title:  Patronage in the Allocation of Public Sector Jobs (2369 Kb)

Friday January 19 at 10:00, Greg Casey, Brown University
Title:  Energy Efficiency and Directed Technical Change: Implications for Climate Change Mitigation (588 Kb)

CANCELED! Friday January 26 at 14:15, Thorsten Rogall, University of British Columbia

Monday January 29 at 13:00, Davide Melcangi, University College London
Title:  The Marginal Propensity to Hire (1350 Kb)

Tuesday January 30 at 13:00, Yimei Zou, University Pompeu Fabra
Title:  Endogenous Production Networks and Gains from Trade (1272 Kb)

Friday February 2 at 10:00, Kirill Borusyak, Harvard University
Title:  The Distributional Effects of Trade: Theory and Evidence from the United States (5651 Kb) (with Xavier Jaravel)

Monday February 5 at 13:00, Alonso de Gortari, Harvard University
Title:  Disentangling Global Value Chains (1898 Kb)

Tuesday February 6 at 10:00, David Schönholzer, University of California, Berkeley
Title: "Valuing Local Public Goods using Municipal Annexations" (with Calvin Zhang)

Wednesday February 7 at  10:00, Michela Carlana, Bocconi University
Title:  Stereotypes and Self-Stereotypes: Evidence from Teachers’ Gender Bias (743 Kb)

Thursday February 8 at  10:00, Marco Tabellini, MIT
Title:  Gifts of the Immigrants, Woes of the Natives: Lessons from the Age of Mass Migration (1335 Kb)


IIES/SNS International Policy Talks
(NB!! Prior registration required!)

Friday March 23 at 08:30, Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University
Title: Globalization and Inequality
Venue: SNS, Jakobsbergsgatan 18, Stockholm
Please sign up via the SNS website


IIES Seminars in room A822, Tuesdays and Thursdays

Thursday March 8 at 15:00, Zhen Huo, Yale University
Title: "Organizational Equilibrium with Capital"

Tuesday March 13 at 13:00, Oskar Nordström-Skans, Uppsala University
Title: Mismatch of Talent: Evidence on Match Quality, Entry Wages, and Job Mobility (6208 Kb)

Thursday March 15 at 15:00, Edouard Schaal, The Centre for Research in International Economics (CREI)
Title: Optimal Transport Networks in Spatial Equilibrium

Tuesday March 20 at 13:00, Ezra Oberfield, Princeton University
Title: Misallocation in the Market for Inputs: Enforcement and the Organization of Production
(with Johannes Boehm)

Thursday March 22 at 13:00, Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University (NB!! Time)
Title: The Productivity Slowdown and the Declining Labor Share: A Neoclassical Exploration
(with Gene M. Grossman, Ezra Oberfield and Thomas Sampson)

Tuesday March 27 at 13:00, David Weinstein, Columbia University
Title:  Accounting for Trade Patterns (663 Kb)

Thursday March 29 at 10:00, Danny Yagan, University of Berkeley (NB!! Time)
Title: Capitalists in the Twenty-First Century
(with Matthew Smith, Owen Zidar, and Eric Zwick)

Tuesday April 10 at 13:00, Nicola Fuchs-Schündeln, Goethe University Frankfurt
Title: TBA

Thursday April 12 at 15:00, Achyuta Adhvaryu, Michigan University
Title: TBA

Tuesday April 17 at 13:00, Johanna Rickne, Stockholm University (SOFI)
Title: TBA

Thursday April 19 at 15:00, Ruixue Jia, UC San Diego
Title: TBA

Tuesday April 24 at 10:00, Jess Benhabib, New York University (NB!! Time)
Title: TBA

CANCELED!! Thursday April 26 at 15:00, Hamish Low, University of Cambridge
Title: TBA

Thursday May 3 at 15:00, Micaela Sviatschi, Princeton University
Title: Making a Narco: Childhood Exposure to Illegal Labor Markets and Criminal Life Paths

Tuesday May 8 at 13:00, Morten Ravn, University College London
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 15 at 13:00, Ben Golub, Harvard University
Title: TBA

Thursday May 17 at 15:00, Simon Mongey, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 22 at 13:00, Michael Peters, Yale University
Title: TBA

CANCELED!! Thursday May 24 at 15:00, Marios Angeletos, MIT
Title: TBA

Tuesday May 29 at 13:00, Ethan Lewis, Dartmouth University
Title: TBA

Tuesday June 5 at 13:00, Mirko Wiederholt, Frankfurt University
Title: TBA

Thursday June 7 at 15:00, David Deming, Harvard University
Title: TBA

CANCELED!! Tuesday June 12 at 13:00, Gianluca Violante, Princeton University
Title: TBA


Thesis Defenses

Friday June 1 at 13:00, Mathias Iwanowsky, IIES
Title: TBA
Venue: Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens hus
Opponent: TBA

Wednesday June 13 at 13:00, Sirus Dehdari, IIES
Title: TBA
Venue: Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens hus
Opponent: TBA

Friday June 15 at 10:00, Karl Harmenberg, IIES
Title: TBA
Venue: Ahlmannsalen, Geovetenskapens hus
Opponent: TBA