Seminars and other Academic Events, Fall 2019

You can find a list of this semester's thesis defenses at the bottom of this page.


Tuesday 20 August at 13.00

Greg Kaplan, University of Chicago
Title: Markups, Labor Market Inequality and the Nature of Work (with Piotr Zoch)

Tuesday 27 August at 13.00

Torsten Persson, IIES
Title: The Dynamics of Enviromental Politics and Values (with Timothy Besley)

Thursday 29 August at 13.00

Arash Nekoei, IIES
Title:

Tuesday 3 September at 13.00

Isaac Sorkin, Stanford University
Title: Granular Search, Market Structure, and Wages (with Gregor Jarosch and Jan Sebastian Nimczik)

Thursday 5 September at 15.00

Noam Yuchtman, London School of Economics (LSE)
Title: Persistent Political Engagement: Social Interactions and the Dynamics of Protest Movements (with Leonardo Bursztyn, Davide Cantoni, David Yang and Jane Zhang)

Thursday 12 September at 15.00

Joshua Gottlieb, University of Chicago
Title: What Does Health Care Billing Cost, and Why Does it Matter? 

Tuesday 17 September at 13.00

Basile Grassi, Bocconi University
Title: Bottom-up Markup Fluctuations (with Ariel Burstein and Vasco M. Carvalho)

Thursday 19 September at 15.00

Emilien Gouin-Bonenfant, Columbia University
Title: Productivity Dispersion, Between-Firm Competition, and the Labor Share

Thursday 26 September at 10.00

Sasha Indarte, Duke University
Title: The Impact of Debt Relief Generosity and Liquid Wealth on Household Bankruptcy

Thursday 3 October at 10.00

Aysegul Sahin, UT Austin
Title: A Unified Approach to Measuring u (with Richard K. Crump, Stefano Eusepi and Marc Giannoni)

Tuesday 8 October at 13.00

Eric Zwick, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Title: Top Wealth in the United States: New Estimates and Implications for Taxing the Rich, with Matthew Smith and Owen Zidar.

Thursday 10 October at 10.00

Christina Patterson, Northwestern University / Chicago Booth
Title: The Matching Multiplier and the Amplification of Recessions

Thursday 17 October at 15.00

Has Van Vlokhoven, IIES
Title: Estimating the Cost of Capital and the Profit Share

Tuesday 22 October at 13.00

Benedetta Lerva, IIES
Title: Quantifying Externalities in Technology Adoption: Experimental Evidence from Ugandan Farmers  

Thursday 24 October at 12.00 (N.B! Time! Ca 1 hour)

Monica Gehrig-Merz, University of Vienna
Title: 'Couples' Time-Use and Aggregate Outcomes: Evidence from a Structural Model, with Almut Balleer and Tamas Papp.

Monday 5 November at 15.30-16.45 (N.B! Time and Place!)

IIES/SNS International Policy Talk @ SNS Jakobsbergsgatan 18
Ekaterina Zhuravskaya, Paris School of Economics
Fake News and the Impact of Social Media on Democracy (Swedish info in link, talk will be in english)

Tuesday 5 November at 13.00

Ekaterina Zhuravskaya, Paris School of Economics
Title: Diffusion of Gender Norms: Evidence from Stalin's Ethnic Deportations with Alexandra Jarotschkin

Wednesday 6 November at 13.00 (N.B! Day and Time!)

Selene Ghisolfi, IIES
Title: Contribution Requirements and Redistribution Decisions: Experimental evidence from Bangladesh

Thursday 7 November at 10.00

Elliot Ash, ETH Zurich
Title: More laws, more growth? Theory and evidence from U.S. states, with Massimo Morelli, and Matia Vannoni.

Friday 8 November at 10.00 (N.B! Day and Time!)

Kasper Kragh-Sorensen, IIES
Title: Optimal property taxation

Friday 8 November at 14.00 (N.B! Day and Time!)

Markus Karlman, IIES
Title: A Quantitative Investigation of House Price Fundamentals

Monday 11 November at 13.00 (N.B! Day and Time!)

Karin Kinnerud, IIES
Title: Monetary Policy and the Mortgage Market

Tuesday 12 November at 13.00

Siwan Anderson, University of British Columbia - Vancouver School of Economics
Title: TBA

Wednesday 13 November at 14.00 (N.B! Day and Time! Ca 1 hour)

Deepak Nayyar, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Title: Economic Development in Asia: Learning from a half-century of Transformations

Thursday 14 November at 10.00

Alisdair McKay, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis
Title: Lumpy Durable Consumption Demand and the Limited Ammunition of Monetary Policy

Tuesday 19 November at 13.00

Kjetil Storesletten, University of Oslo
Title: Business Cycle during Structural Change: Arthur Lewis' Theory from a Neoclassical Perspective

Wednesday 20 November at 14.00 (N.B! Day and Time!)

Richard Foltyn, IIES
Title: Experience-based Learning, Stock Market Participation and Portfolio Choice

Thursday 21 November at 10.00

Suresh Naidu, Columbia School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA)
Title: Monopsony and Employer Mis-optimization Explain Why Wages Bunch at Round Numbers

Tuesday 26 November at 13.00

Anne Karing, Princeton University
Title: Social Signaling and Childhood Immunization: A Field Experiment in Sierra Leone

Thursday 28 November at 15.00 (N.B! Time)

Jerome Adda, Bocconi University
Title: There’s More to Marriage than Love: The Effect of Legal Status and Cultural Distance on Intermarriages and Separations

CANCELLED! N.B! CANCELLED

Wednesday 4 December at 14.00 (N.B! Day and Time)

Imran Rasul, University College London (UCL)
Title: The Impacts of a Multifaceted Pre-natal Intervention on Human Capital Accumulation in Early Life (with Pedro Carneiro, Lucy Kraftman, Giacomo Mason, Lucie Moore and Molly Scott)

Monday 16 December at 13.00 (N.B! Day!)

Hannes Malmberg, University of Minnesota
Title: TBA

Thesis Defenses

Friday 17 May at 14.00, Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Jaakko Meriläinen
Title: Essays in Political Economics
Opponent: Toke Aidt, University of Cambridge

Friday 7 June at 14.00, Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Josef Sigurdson
Title: Essays on Labor Supply and Adjustment Frictions
Opponent: Peter Fredriksson, Uppsala Universitet

Friday 23 August at 14.00, Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Serena Cocciolo
Title: Participatory Governance and Public Service Provision
Opponent: Michelle Brock, European Bank for Reconstrucitonand Development (EBRD)

Friday 6 September at 14.00, Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Matti Mitrunen
Title: Essays on the Political Economy of Development
Opponent: Noam Yuchtman, London School of Economics (LSE)

Friday 4 October at 14.00, William Olsson-salen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Jonna Olsson
Title: Work, Wealth, and Well-being: Essays on Macroeconomics
Opponent: Aysegul Sahin, UT Austin

Friday 25 October at 14.00, Nordenskiöldsalen, Geovetenskapens Hus

Saman Darougheh
Title: Search and Mismatch
Opponent: Monika Gehrig-Merz, University of Vienna